DUI penalties in PA 58



To start with, if you commit a first DUI offense in A Pennsylvania DUI, DUI conviction will appear on your criminal record in the state of Pennsylvania for life. Do you really need that? Think of it before starting the engine drunk. In Pennsylvania, Violation of Zero Tolerance Law is in effect. This means that is your are a minor and your BAC is 0.02% or higher at the time of arrest, you will be convicted of DUI in PA and can expect the following penalties.

PA DUI Penalties for Tier 1 Offences

PA DUI Penalties for Tier 1 Offences are the mildest.

1st Offense DUI penalties in PA:

  • fine: $300 for BAC level of .08% to .099%, $500 to $5,000 plus court costs for BAC level of .10% to .159%, minimum $1,000 up to $5,000 plus court costs for BAC .16% and more.

  • probation: six months maximum
  • Attendance at a DUI Driving School (alcohol, safety and highway programs).
  • Jail term: probationary period of up to 6 months for BAC level of .08% to .099%, a minimum of 48 consecutive hours in jail up to a maximum of 6 months for BAC of .10% to .159%, a minimum of 72 consecutive hours in jail up to a maximum of 6 months for BAC .16% or more.
  • loss of driving privileges: 12 month license suspension for BAC of .10% and more: 18 month driver’s license suspension plus with ignition interlock occupational limited license after the first 60 days of suspension.
  • Insurance: Pennsylvania SR22 insurance policy for a 3-years after DUI conviction.


2nd Offense DUI penalties in PA:

  • fine: $300 - $2,500 for BAC level of .08% to .099%, $750 - $5,000 for BAC of .10% to .159%, minimum fine of $1,500 for for BAC 16% or more.
  • probation: six months maximum
  • Attendance at a DUI Driving School (alcohol, safety and highway programs).
  • loss of driving privileges: 12 months drivers license suspension for BAC of .08% to .159%, 18 months drivers license suspension for BAC .16% or more.
  • Attendance at a DUI Driving School (alcohol, safety and highway programs).
  • Jail term: 5 days to 6 months jail time from 5 days to 6 months for BAC level of .08% to .099%, from 30 days to 6 months for BAC of .10% to .159%, between 90 days and 5 years for BAC .16% or more.
  • Ignition interlock system for 1 year (if court orders)

The system of DUI penalties in PA uses ARD (Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition) rehabilitation program for first time offender in Pennsylvania is am alternative which enables the offenders to avoid lengthy process of a trial by taking up certain consequences instead. It’s not DUI penalties in PA by but safety every driver should be concerned of in the first place!



DUI in PA Help

PA DUI FAQ:

Say NO to DUI In PA!

Say NO to DUI In PA!

DUI Prevention:

PA DUI News:

09.01.2009:
DUI Law system in PA includes a "per se" law applied to driving under the influence of drugs (DUI Drugs)..

Read more...

02.02.2010:
Clayton County police Officer Martin Jones was just found guilty of DUI and speeding on Friday. He was found not guilty on the charges of DUI-less safe and reckless driving. Read more...>