Driving Under the Influence in Pennsylvania

PA DUI Law

PA DUI law defines different sets of punishments based of the following factors:

  • The number of DUI violations: PA DUI laws provide the least severe punishments for first time offenders and the most severe ones for those who are arrested for DUI in PA for the third and more times.
  • BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) - the concentration of alcohol in a person’s blood. PA DUI laws define 3 levels of DUI violation based on a driver’s BAC (three tiered system). A certain set of punishments corresponds to each level.
  • Drivers under 21 age and commercial drivers have stricter BAC requirements than average drivers
  • A number of faults and misconducts aggravate the offence and incur more severe punishment.

DUI Law in PA For example, if you commit a DUI violation in PA for the first time, and you BAC is 0.08% to 0.099%, you won’t be put into jail or lose you driver’s license, but you will pay a $300 fine, you will be put on a 6 month probation, you will have to attend alcohol education courses and obliged to seek alcohol and drug treatment. If you are arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania for the second time and\or you BAC is higher, PA DUI laws determine more severe penalties, up to a jail term. Also, remember of other DUI consequences incurred by other than PA DUI laws factors. For instance, car insurance rates for you will be several times as high as for ordinary drivers, your career opportunities may be damaged.